Pacific Edge Appoints Independent Director

Pacific Edge Appoints Independent Director

Bryan Williams FRSNZ, FAA, who has a distinguished career in cancer research and international business, has accepted appointment to the Board of Pacific Edge Limited as an Independent Director.

Dr Williams is the former Chairman of Sydney-based Marshall Edwards Pty Ltd (now Nasdaq-listed MEI Pharma), which specialises in the clinical development of novel therapies for cancer. In his capacity as Chairman, he negotiated licensing deals with major pharmaceutical companies, oversaw two capital raisings totalling $40 million and the transfer of the company from Sydney to San Diego. Dr Williams retired from the Board last year.

His previous experience includes raising the initial venture capital for Gemini Technologies in the United States, a business based on scientific research at the Lerner Institute, and positions as Scientific Advisor to other life science start-ups. He was a co-founder of Alios BioPharma in the United States which licensed patents held by him and others.

Born and educated in New Zealand, Dr Williams became one of America's accomplished cancer experts specialising in molecular biology of tumour suppression. He is internationally recognised for his contributions to research on Wilms Tumor, a cancer of the kidney that primarily affects children, and for studies on protein kinase R, an important cellular signalling molecule. Currently, Dr Williams is Director of the Monash Medical Institute in Melbourne. Dr Williams is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand and a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science.

Pacific Edge Chairman, Chris Swann, says Pacific Edge will benefit greatly from Bryan William's US commercial experience and his international cancer standing as an acknowledged leader in cancer research and with extensive experience in leading life science companies and commercial evaluation of technologies, Dr Williams will provide a great complement to the skills and capabilities of the existing
Board members.

« Back